Executive Board of SCNAT

Executive Board

The Executive Board is the strategic management body of SCNAT. Its tasks include the approval of the budget and the public representation of SCNAT. The Board members are also responsible for the authorization of mandates and service agreements with the platforms, including the controlling of the platforms.

Extended Board

The Extended Board consists of the board members elected by the delegates and the presidents of the platforms.

The central tasks of the Extended Board consist in the consolidation of the strategic management of the SCNAT and platforms to produce a general management concept which, in turn, leads to annual and multi-annual plans. This also includes the approval of the corresponding budgets. The Extended Board is also responsible for SCNAT’s representation on international bodies.

Board members

Philippe Moreillon Porträt

Philippe Moreillon
President of SCNAT

Christophe Rossel

Christophe Rossel
Physiker an supraleitenden Materialien, Halbleitern und Nanoelektronik, IBM Research-Zurich

Silvio Decurtins Porträt

Silvio Decurtins
Professor für Chemie an der Universität Bern

Emmanuelle Giacometti Porträt

Emmanuelle Giacometti
Director of the Espace des inventions, Lausanne

Lukas Baumgartner Porträt

Lukas Baumgartner
Professor at the Faculty of Geosciences and Environment at University of Lausanne

Maria Schönbächler Porträt

Maria Schönbächler
Professorin am Departement Erdwissenschaften, ETH Zürich

Presidents of the platforms

Christoph Scheidegger Porträt

Christoph Scheidegger
President Platform Biology

Senior Scientist at the Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research (WSL)
Professor at the University of Berne

Christophe Copéret Porträt

Christophe Copéret
President Platform Chemistry

Professor at the Laboratory of Inorganic Chemistry, ETH Zurich

Naki Akçar Porträt

Naki Akçar
President Platform Geosciences

Senior Lecturer at the Institut of Geology, University of Bern

Ernst Meyer Porträt

Ernst Meyer
President Platform Mathematics, Astronomy and Physics

Professor of Experimentl Physics at University of Basel

Pascal Mäser Porträt

Pascal Mäser
President of Plattform Sciences and Regions

Professor at the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute

René Schwarzenbach Porträt

René Schwarzenbach
President Platform Science and Policy

Environmental chemist, emeriti professor at Department of Environmental Systems Science, ETH Zurich.

Permanent guest

Daniel Marti Porträt

Daniel Marti
Consulting representative of the Federal authority

State Secretariat for Education and Research SERI, Section National Research


Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern

+41 31 306 93 00