Call Prix Schläfli 2020

Rewarding the best Swiss PhDs in the natural sciences

The Prix Schläfli, one of the longest-running science prizes in Switzerland (since 1866), is awarded by the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT) to young scientists for excellent articles resulting from PhDs in each of the following natural science disciplines: Biology, Chemistry, Geosciences and Astronomy.

Plume Grand Duc - Prix Schläfli
Image: Caspar Klein

Eligibility is limited to young researchers who did their doctoral thesis at a Swiss University, or Swiss nationals who did their doctoral thesis abroad. Candidates must have defended their doctoral thesis between 1 November 2016 and 31 October 2019. Nominations may be submitted by the candidate’s doctoral supervisor or by the president of an SCNAT member society.

The two best candidates from the disciplines of biology, chemistry, and astronomy will be proposed to the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting Committee for participation at the meeting in 2020.

Nominations for the Prix Schläfli must be submitted via our online form before 31 October 2019.


  • Geosciences