Scientific policy advice in Europe

The SCNAT provides scientific advice to Swiss policy-making. It is also involved in such activities in Europe, because decisions taken there are relevant for Switzerland. In so doing, the SCNAT supports the engagement of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences (a+).

Science Advice for Policy by European Academies

The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences are members of two European umbrella organisations, and are thus part of the consortium Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA). Bringing together over 100 academies of all disciplines from more than 40 European countries, SAPEA provides the political bodies of the EU with independent and transdisciplinary scientific insights. This is done through the Scientific Advice Mechanism and is funded by the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation. The SCNAT contributes to SAPEA's work with expertise from among its network.

European Academies Science Advisory Council

Part of SAPEA is the umbrella organisation European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC), to which the science academies of the EU member states, Switzerland and Norway belong. In addition to its contribution to SAPEA, EASAC advises EU policy bodies in the fields of Biosciences, Energy and the Environment. The SCNAT delegates scholars from Switzerland to EASAC Steering Panels and to working groups that draft scientific reports with policy recommendations.

Contact

Dr. Roger Pfister
Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 06
E-mail

Publications

Conseils scientifiques en Europe

La SCNAT fournit des conseils scientifiques aux acteurs politiques en Suisse. Elle participe aussi à de telles activités en Europe, car les décisions qui y sont prises sont pertinent pour la Suisse. La SCNAT soutient ainsi l'engagement des Académies suisses des sciences (a+).

Science Advice for Policy by European Academies

Les Académies suisses des sciences sont membres de deux organisations faîtières européennes, et font donc partie du consortium Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA). Rassemblant plus de 100 académies de toutes les disciplines de plus de 40 pays européens, SAPEA fournit aux organes politiques de l'UE des résultats scientifiques indépendants et transdisciplinaires. Cela se fait par le biais du Scientific Advice Mechanism et est financé par le programme-cadre de l'UE pour la recherche et l'innovation. La SCNAT contribue au travail de SAPEA avec de l’expertise de son réseau.

European Academies Science Advisory Council

SAPEA comprend l’organisation faîtière European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC), dont font partie les académies des sciences des états membres de l'UE, de la Suisse et de la Norvège. Outre sa contribution à SAPEA, l'EASAC conseille les organes politiques de l'UE dans les domaines des biosciences vie, de l'énergie et de l'environnement. La SCNAT délègue des chercheuses et chercheurs suisses aux comités directeurs de l'EASAC et aux groupes de travail qui préparent des rapports scientifiques avec des recommandations politiques.

Contact

Dr. Roger Pfister
Académie suisse des sciences naturelles (SCNAT)
Maison des Académies
Case postale
3001 Berne

+41 31 306 93 06
E-mail

Publications