Scientific policy advice in Europe

The SCNAT provides scientific advice to Swiss policy-making. It is also involved in such activities in Europe, because decisions taken there are relevant for Switzerland. In so doing, the SCNAT supports the engagement of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences (a+).

Science Advice for Policy by European Academies

The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences are members of two European umbrella organisations, and are thus part of the consortium Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA). Bringing together over 100 academies of all disciplines from more than 40 European countries, SAPEA provides the political bodies of the EU with independent and transdisciplinary scientific insights. This is done through the Scientific Advice Mechanism and is funded by the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation. The SCNAT contributes to SAPEA's work with expertise from among its network.

European Academies Science Advisory Council

Part of SAPEA is the umbrella organisation European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC), to which the science academies of the EU member states, Switzerland and Norway belong. In addition to its contribution to SAPEA, EASAC advises EU policy bodies in the fields of Biosciences, Energy and the Environment. The SCNAT delegates scholars from Switzerland to EASAC Steering Panels and to working groups that draft scientific reports with policy recommendations.

Contact

Dr. Roger Pfister
Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 06
E-mail

Publications

Wissenschaftliche Politikberatung in Europa

Die SCNAT berät die Schweizer Politik wissenschaftlich. Sie bringt sich auch bei entsprechenden Aktivitäten in Europa ein, weil dort getroffene Entscheide für die Schweiz von Bedeutung sind. Damit unterstützt die SCNAT das Engagement der Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz (a+).

Science Advice for Policy by European Academies

Die Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz sind Mitglied bei zwei europäischen Dachverbänden und dadurch Teil des Konsortiums Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA). Bestehend aus über 100 Akademien aller Disziplinen aus mehr als 40 Ländern Europas, stellt SAPEA den politischen Gremien der EU unabhängige und transdisziplinäre wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse zur Verfügung. Dies erfolgt über den sogenannten Scientific Advice Mechanism und wird finanziert durch das EU-Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation. Die SCNAT trägt mit Expertise aus ihrem Netzwerk zu den Arbeiten von SAPEA bei.

European Academies Science Advisory Council

Teil von SAPEA ist der Dachverband European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC), dem die Wissenschaftsakademien der EU-Mitgliedstaaten, der Schweiz und Norwegens angehören. Ergänzend zu ihrem Beitrag an SAPEA berät das EASAC die politischen Gremien der EU in den Bereichen Biowissenschaften, Energie und Umwelt. Die SCNAT delegiert Forscherinnen und Forscher aus der Schweiz in EASAC-Leitungsgremien und in Arbeitsgruppen zur Erarbeitung wissenschaftlicher Berichte mit Politikempfehlungen.

Kontakt

Dr. Roger Pfister
Akademie der Naturwissenschaften Schweiz (SCNAT)
Haus der Akademien
Postfach
3001 Bern

+41 31 306 93 06
E-Mail

Publikationen