Research culture

Today's research culture has many problematic aspects and requires in-depth transformation. SCNAT is committed to a general framework that promotes creative and solid research, as well as open exchange of information. It raises awareness of the ethical responsibility of science and draws up guidelines for scientific work and its use.

Research culture is a broad term. SCNAT interprets it as the diversely influenced environment and its general framework, which guides and shapes the scientific activities and cooperation of researchers. A modern research culture is a necessary precondition for Switzerland to remain an attractive hub for research and knowledge and for science to finally assume its social responsibility.

Open and transparent science

SCNAT welcomes efforts to make scientific data, methods, results and publications freely accessible. It is committed to ensuring that research results are presented, so as to be comprehensible to the broader public. SCNAT also supports initiatives to provide the public with insights into the development of scientific results or let them participate in this process themselves.

Science evaluation

SCNAT advocates a more differentiated assessment of scientific performance that goes beyond the current quantitative metrics. It supports the introduction of supplementary qualitative and societally relevant criteria. It especially considers the commitment to the dialogue with society to be an important assessment criterion.

Engagements of SCNAT

Contact

Marcel Falk
Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 20
E-mail

News

Simone Schürle and Jacques Dubochet
Simone Schürle on Shaping a Sustainable Research Culture

The results of my discussions at the «We Scientists 2035» workshop revealed that one of the problems with scientific culture widely experienced by participants, is growing pressure. The workshop this

Carbon Footprint Science
“Now that you have the support, you should be able to do more”

What is the best way to reduce greenhouse gas emissions caused by scientists travelling for business, particularly by plane? This was the issue to be discussed at the morning conference

Zur Diskussion: Qualität vor Quantität
Zur Diskussion: Qualität vor Quantität

Mit dem New Science Regime bestimmen seit der Jahrhundertwende der Wettbewerb und die Leistungsmessung die wissenschaftliche Praxis. Zunehmend stellt sich die Frage, ob der Output hinreichend nach wissenschaftlichen Prinzipien validiert

La SCNAT et son réseau s'engagent pour une société et une science durables. Ils soutiennent la politique, l'administration et les entreprises avec des connaissances spécialisées et entretiennent un dialogue avec le public. Ils renforcent les échanges entre disciplines scientifiques et promeuvent les jeunes universitaires.

Image : Sebastian, stock.adobe.com

Culture scientifique

La culture scientifique actuelle présente de nombreux aspects problématiques et doit être profondément modifiée. La SCNAT est attachée à des conditions cadres qui favorisent la recherche créative et solide, et l’échange ouvert. Elle sensibilise à la responsabilité éthique de la science et crée des lignes directrices pour le travail scientifique et son utilisation.

La culture scientifique est un terme vaste. La SCNAT entend cela comme un environnement caractérisé par différentes influences et ses conditions cadres, qui guident et façonnent l’activité scientifique et la collaboration des chercheurs. Une culture scientifique moderne est une condition sine qua non pour que la Suisse reste attractive en tant que centre de recherche et de savoir, et que la science assume sa responsabilité en tant que partie intégrante de la société.

Science ouverte et transparente

La SCNAT salue les efforts visant à rendre les données scientifiques, les méthodes, les résultats et les publications librement accessibles. Elle s'engage à veiller à ce que les résultats de la recherche soient traités d'une manière compréhensible pour le public. La SCNAT soutient également des initiatives visant à donner à la population un aperçu de l’évolution des résultats scientifiques ou à y participer elle-même.

Évaluation des performances académiques

La SCNAT préconise une évaluation plus différenciée des performances scientifiques qui va au-delà des mesures quantitatives actuelles. Elle soutient l'introduction de critères qualitatifs et socialement pertinents supplémentaires. Elle considère l'engagement dans le dialogue avec la société comme un critère d'évaluation important.

Engagements de la SCNAT

Contact

Académie suisse des sciences naturelles (SCNAT)
Maison des Académies
Case postale
3001 Berne


Actuels

Horizons N° 131
Publier à tout prix!

Certaines facettes du système des publications scientifiques sont discutables: plus une chercheuse parvient à publier d’articles dans des revues reconnues et plus leurs articles publiés sont cités par des collègues,

Scientific Integrity
Un code commun pour l’intégrité scientifique

swissuniversities, le Fonds national suisse et Innosuisse, l’Agence suisse pour l’encouragement de l’innovation, ont élaboré ensemble un code d’intégrité scientifique sous l’égide des Académies suisses des sciences. Ce code tient

Image : Push'nPull, a+
Maria Schönbächler, professeure de géochimie isotopique à l'EPF Zurich
Image : Alessandro Della Bella, ETH Zürich

Frauen in der Wissenschaft

Frauen machen die Hälfte der Masterabschlüsse an Schweizer Hochschulen. Auf Professurstufe finden sich gerade mal noch ein Viertel Frauen. Die Akademien der Wissenschaften Schweiz engagieren sich für eine bessere Gender-Balance in Bildung, Forschung und Innovation und machen mit regelmässigen Veranstaltungen auf das Thema aufmerksam.