Science division

The science division comprises the four disciplinary platforms for biology, chemistry, geosciences as well as for mathematics, astronomy and physics. The platforms bring together scientists from scientific societies and expert committees in Switzerland. They connect the stakeholders of the various disciplines, promote the transfer of knowledge, impart specialist expertise for society and politics, and provide good conditions for researchers in Switzerland.

The Commitee for the Promotion of young talents also belongs to this devision. It promotes science teaching at school and scientific literacy.

Stefan Nussbaum Porträt

Stefan Nussbaum
Head of Science division

Phone +41 31 306 93 04


Claudia Rutte


Claudia Rutte
Head of platform

Phone: +41 31 306 93 35

Leo Merz


Leo Merz
Head of platform

Phone: +41 31 306 93 30

Pierre Dèzes


Pierre Dèzes
Head of platform

Phone: +41 31 306 93 25

Marc Türler

Mathematics, astronomy and physics

Marc Türler
Head of platform

Phone: +41 31 306 93 10

Expert commissions

Anne Jacob

Committee for the Promotion of Young Scientists

Anne Jacob
Head of office

Phone: +41 31 306 93 05

Yvonne Hari Porträt

Focus Research culture

Yvonne Hari

Phone: +41 31 306 93 32


Dr. Stefan Nussbaum
Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern

+41 31 306 93 04