SCNAT and its network are committed to a sustainable science and society. They support policy-making, administration and business with expert knowledge and actively participate in public discourse. They strengthen the exchange across scientific disciplines and promote early career academics.

Image: Sebastian,

Nobel Prize in Physics in the field of laser research

This year's Nobel Prize in Physics goes to Pierre Agostini in the USA, Ferenc Krausz in Germany and Anne L'Huillier in Sweden for advances in the field of laser research.

Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier - winner of the Nobel prize in physics 2023
Image: Ill. Niklas Elmehed © Nobel Prize Outreach

The researchers have succeeded in generating extremely short laser pulses. These last one attosecond, or 0.000,000,000,000,001 seconds. This makes it possible to observe the dynamics of electrons within atoms, which move enormously fast. One possible application of this research is in medicine, for example: the smallest changes in blood samples can be observed and thus improvements in early diagnostics would be possible.

In 2022, the Nobel Prize in Physics went to the Frenchman Alain Aspect, the US American John F. Clauser and the Austrian Anton Zeilinger for research in the field of quantum physics.