Roadmaps for research infrastructures

On a mandate by the Confederation, SCNAT elaborated a series of thematic roadmaps for research infrastructures together with the scientific communities by 31st March 2021. These community roadmaps serve as basis for the process leading to the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures 2023 for the ERI Dispatch 2025–2028.

Roadmaps SCNAT
Roadmaps SCNAT

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) prepares every four years the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures. This provides a basis for decision-making on the investment of federal funds in research facilities of national interest. The Roadmap is integrated into the ERI Dispatch, which the Federal Council then submits to Parliament for approval.

On request by the SERI, SCNAT coordinates since 2019 the elaboration of roadmaps by the scientific communities in the following scientific fields:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Geosciences
  • Particle physics
  • Astronomy (in preparation)
  • Photon Science
  • Neutron Science

From Round Tables to Roadmaps

The scientists from the various disciplines developed the roadmaps in a bottom-up process moderated by SCNAT. This was organised via disciplinary round tables inspired by the round table that SCNAT established earlier in the Platform Mathematics, Astronomy and Physics (MAP).

The roadmaps offer a vision for the future of the scientific disciplines in Switzerland. They identify research infrastructures that will be of importance in the coming years in order to achieve the goals of Swiss researchers. They shall serve the identification, selection and evaluation of the national and international infrastructures to be included in the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures 2023 in view of the ERI Dispatch 2025–2028.

Schedule

The process is schematically represented below, where the displayed phase 1 started effectively in winter 2019–2020, whereas phase 2 ended formally on 31 March 2021 with the delivery of the thematic roadmaps. Those will serve in phase 3 until the release of the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures in early 2023, followed the next year by the decision on the ERI Dispatch 2025–2028.

Schematic representation of the process of the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures with special emphasis on the preparatory phase assigned to SCNAT.
Schematic representation of the process of the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures with special emphasis on the preparatory phase assigned to SCNAT.

Roadmaps

Contact

Dr Marc Türler
SCNAT
Platform Mathematics, Astronomy and Physics (Platform MAP)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 65
E-mail

Feuilles de route pour les infrastructures de recherche

Sur mandat de la Confédération, la SCNAT a élaboré avec les communautés scientifiques une série de feuilles de route thématiques pour des infrastructures de recherche au 31 mars 2021. Ces feuilles de route constituent une base de planification pour la Feuille de route suisse pour les infrastructures de recherche en vue du Message FRI 2025–2028 du Conseil fédéral à l’attention du Parlement.

Roadmaps SCNAT
Roadmaps SCNAT

Le Secrétariat d'État à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation (SEFRI) établit tous les quatre ans la Feuille de route suisse pour les infrastructures de recherche. Cette feuille de route livre à la Confédération une base de décision qui lui permet d'identifier les installations de recherche de portée nationale dans lesquelles elle doit investir. La feuille de route s'inscrit dans la perspective du Message FRI, qui est soumis à l'approbation du Parlement par le Conseil fédéral.

Sur mandat du SEFRI, la SCNAT coordonne depuis 2019 l’élaboration de feuilles de route par les communautés scientifiques dans les disciplines de sciences naturelles suivantes:

  • Biologie
  • Chimie
  • Géosciences
  • Physique des particules
  • Astronomie (en préparation)
  • Science photonique
  • Science neutronique

Des tables rondes aux feuilles de route

Les scientifiques des différentes disciplines ont élaboré les feuilles de route dans le cadre d'un processus «bottom-up» modéré par la SCNAT. Le processus a été organisé par le biais de tables rondes disciplinaires et s'est basé sur la table ronde déjà établie par la SCNAT pour la Plateforme Mathématiques, Astronomie et Physique (MAP).

Les feuilles de route offrent une vision pour l'avenir des disciplines scientifiques en Suisse et identifient les infrastructures de recherche qui permettront d'atteindre les objectifs des chercheuses et chercheurs suisses dans les années à venir. Elles servent à l'identification, la sélection et l'évaluation des infrastructures nationales et internationales à considérer dans la Feuille de route suisse pour les infrastructures de recherche 2023 en vue du Message FRI 2025–2028.

Agenda

Le processus est représenté schématiquement ci-dessous, où la phase 1, telle que représentée ici, a commencé pleinement durant l'hiver 2019–2020, tandis que la phase 2 s'est formellement terminée le 31 mars 2021 avec la remise des feuilles de route thématiques. Elles serviront dans la phase 3 jusqu'à la publication de la Feuille de route suisse pour les infrastructures de recherche au début de 2023, suivie l'année suivante par la décision concernant le Message FRI 2025–2028.

Représentation schématique du processus de la Feuille de route suisse pour les infrastructures de recherche, avec un accent particulier sur la phase préparatoire assignée à la SCNAT.
Représentation schématique du processus de la Feuille de route suisse pour les infrastructures de recherche, avec un accent particulier sur la phase préparatoire assignée à la SCNAT.

Roadmaps

Contact

Dr Marc Türler
SCNAT
Plateforme Mathématiques, Astronomie et Physique (Plateforme MAP)
Maison des Académies
Case postale
3001 Berne

+41 31 306 93 65
E-mail