Roadmaps for research infrastructures

On a mandate by the Confederation, SCNAT elaborated a series of thematic roadmaps for research infrastructures together with the scientific communities by 31st March 2021. These community roadmaps serve as basis for the process leading to the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures 2023 for the ERI Dispatch 2025–2028.

Roadmaps SCNAT
Roadmaps SCNAT

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) prepares every four years the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures. This provides a basis for decision-making on the investment of federal funds in research facilities of national interest. The Roadmap is integrated into the ERI Dispatch, which the Federal Council then submits to Parliament for approval.

On request by the SERI, SCNAT coordinates since 2019 the elaboration of roadmaps by the scientific communities in the following scientific fields:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Geosciences
  • Particle physics
  • Astronomy (in preparation)
  • Photon Science
  • Neutron Science

From Round Tables to Roadmaps

The scientists from the various disciplines developed the roadmaps in a bottom-up process moderated by SCNAT. This was organised via disciplinary round tables inspired by the round table that SCNAT established earlier in the Platform Mathematics, Astronomy and Physics (MAP).

The roadmaps offer a vision for the future of the scientific disciplines in Switzerland. They identify research infrastructures that will be of importance in the coming years in order to achieve the goals of Swiss researchers. They shall serve the identification, selection and evaluation of the national and international infrastructures to be included in the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures 2023 in view of the ERI Dispatch 2025–2028.

Schedule

The process is schematically represented below, where the displayed phase 1 started effectively in winter 2019–2020, whereas phase 2 ended formally on 31 March 2021 with the delivery of the thematic roadmaps. Those will serve in phase 3 until the release of the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures in early 2023, followed the next year by the decision on the ERI Dispatch 2025–2028.

Schematic representation of the process of the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures with special emphasis on the preparatory phase assigned to SCNAT.
Schematic representation of the process of the Swiss Roadmap for Research Infrastructures with special emphasis on the preparatory phase assigned to SCNAT.

Roadmaps

Contact

Dr Marc Türler
SCNAT
Platform Mathematics, Astronomy and Physics (Platform MAP)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 65
E-mail

Roadmaps für Forschungs­infrastrukturen

Im Auftrag des Bundes erarbeitete die SCNAT zusammen mit den Wissenschaftsgemeinschaften fachspezifische Roadmaps für Forschungsinfrastrukturen per 31. März 2021. Die Roadmaps stellen eine Planungsgrundlage für die Schweizer Roadmap für Forschungsinfrastrukturen 2023 des Bundes dar. Diese fliesst in die BFI-Botschaft 2025­–2028 des Bundesrats zuhanden des Parlaments ein.

Roadmaps SCNAT
Roadmaps SCNAT

Das Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) erstellt im Vierjahresrhythmus die Schweizer Roadmap für Forschungsinfrastrukturen (FIS). Die Roadmap liefert eine Entscheidungsgrundlage, in welche Forschungseinrichtungen von nationalem Interesse der Bund investieren soll. Sie fliesst in die BFI-Botschaft ein, die der Bundesrat dem Parlament zur Genehmigung unterbreitet.

Im Auftrag des SBFI koordiniert die SCNAT seit 2019 die Erarbeitung von Roadmaps durch die Wissenschaftsgemeinschaften in den folgenden naturwissenschaftlichen Bereichen:

  • Biologie
  • Chemie
  • Geowissenschaften
  • Teilchenphysik
  • Astronomie (in Bearbeitung)
  • Photonenforschung
  • Neutronenforschung

Vom Roundtable zur Roadmap

Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der verschiedenen Disziplinen erarbeiteten die Roadmaps in einem von der SCNAT moderierten Bottom-Up-Prozess. Dieser wurde über disziplinäre Roundtables organisiert und orientierte sich am Vorgehen, das die SCNAT bereits für die Plattform Mathematik, Astronomie und Physik (MAP) etabliert hat.

Die Roadmaps bieten eine Vision für die Zukunft der wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen in der Schweiz. Sie identifizieren Forschungsinfrastrukturen, die in den kommenden Jahren von Bedeutung sein werden, um die Ziele der Schweizer Forschung zu erreichen. Sie dienen der Identifikation, Auswahl und Bewertung der nationalen und internationalen Infrastrukturen, die in die Schweizer Roadmap für Forschungsinfrastrukturen 2023 des SBFI aufgenommen werden sollen. Die Schweizer Roadmap wiederum fliesst in die BFI-Botschaft 2025–2028 des Bundesrats zuhanden des Parlaments ein.

Zeitplan

Der Ablauf ist unten schematisch dargestellt. Die abgebildete Phase 1 begann im Winter 2019–2020, während Phase 2 am 31. März 2021 mit der Übergabe der fachspezifischen Roadmaps endete. Diese werden nun in Phase 3 in die Schweizer Roadmap für Forschungsinfrastrukturen eingearbeitet, die das SBFI Anfang 2023 veröffentlicht. 2024 entscheidet das Parlament dann über die BFI-Botschaft 2025–2028.

Schematische Darstellung des Prozesses der Schweizer Roadmap für Forschungsinfrastrukturen mit besonderem Fokus auf die der SCNAT zugewiesene Vorbereitungsphase.
Schematische Darstellung des Prozesses der Schweizer Roadmap für Forschungsinfrastrukturen mit besonderem Fokus auf die der SCNAT zugewiesene Vorbereitungsphase.

Roadmaps

Kontakt

Dr Marc Türler
SCNAT
Plattform Mathematik, Astronomie und Physik (Plattform MAP)
Haus der Akademien
Postfach
3001 Bern

+41 31 306 93 65
E-Mail