SCNAT and its network are committed to a sustainable science and society. They support policy-making, administration and business with expert knowledge and actively participate in public discourse. They strengthen the exchange across scientific disciplines and promote early career academics.

Image: Sebastian, stock.adobe.com

Awards

SCNAT awards prizes for the promotion of early career scientists and for the successful communication of scientific content.

Awards by SCNAT

Polar research
Image: pxhere

Prix de Quervain

Prix de Quervain for Polar and High Altitude Research is attributed to young scientists for outstanding achievements in their Master or PhD thesis or other research projects. The Prix de Quervain is announced annually, and funded by the Swiss Committee on Polar and High Altitude Research (SKPH), the Commission for the for Research Station on Jungfraujoch (SKJF) and the Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research.

Awards by member organisations

Alexander Groos / Enrico Mattea
At the Top of High Altitude Research: Two Young Researchers Awarded the 2021 Quervain Prize

Discovery of the oldest high-altitude village in the world, situated at a dizzying 3500 m, and melting snows and glaciers of Monte Rosa – the two young researchers Alexander Groos

Image: S. Erlwein / E. Mattea
Prix Média Newcomer 2021 für Simone Pengue
Viren, Volt und Daten

Wie kommen wir aus der Corona-Pandemie heraus? Und wie stellen wir auch künftig die Stabilität des Stromnetzes sicher? Zwei Fragen, die von hoher gesellschaftlicher Relevanz sind und von den Wissenschaftsjournalisten

Image: a+
Born in Catania, Sicily, Gabriel Cuomo went to Trieste for his master's degree, to Lausanne as a doctoral student, and finally to New York as a postdoc. The picture shows Cuomo during a visit to Switzerland.
Gabriel Cuomo receives the CHIPP Prize 2021

Last year, Gabriel Cuomo successfully defended his PhD thesis in theoretical particle physics at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). For this academic achievement, the Sicilian-born physicist, who now lives

Image: G. Cuomo
Prize-winners Prix Schläfli 2021 (from upper left): Gregor Weiss, Fabian Mahrt, Claudia Aloisi, Gabriel Dill
Prix Schläfli 2021 award for the four best dissertations in natural sciences

The body's own defence against urinary tract infections, a new method for quantifying and determining genetic damage, evidence in so-called Diophantine geometry and the question of how soot from combustion

Image: M. Feldmüller, G. J. Crescenzo, ETH Zürich / N. Pitaro, M. Bosshard

Die SCNAT und ihr Netzwerk setzen sich für eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft und Wissenschaft ein. Sie unterstützen Politik, Verwaltung und Wirtschaft mit Fachwissen und pflegen den Dialog mit der Öffentlichkeit. Sie stärken den Austausch über die wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen hinweg und fördern den akademischen Nachwuchs.

Bild: Sebastian, stock.adobe.com

Auszeichnungen

Die SCNAT vergibt Preise zur Förderung junger Naturwissenschaftlerinnen und Naturwissenschaftler und für die gelungene Vermittlung wissenschaftlicher Inhalte.

Auszeichnungen der SCNAT

Polarforschung
Bild: pxhere

Prix de Quervain

Der Preis für Polar- und Höhenforschung wird jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern für herausragende Leistungen in ihrer Master- oder Doktorarbeit oder anderen Forschungsprojekten verliehen. Die Auszeichnung wird vom Schweizerischen Komitee für Polar- und Höhenforschung (SKPH), der Kommission für die Forschungsstation Jungfraujoch (SKJF) und der Schweizerischen Stiftung für Alpenforschung vergeben.

Auszeichnungen von Mitgliedsorganisationen

Prix Média Newcomer 2021 für Simone Pengue
Viren, Volt und Daten

Wie kommen wir aus der Corona-Pandemie heraus? Und wie stellen wir auch künftig die Stabilität des Stromnetzes sicher? Zwei Fragen, die von hoher gesellschaftlicher Relevanz sind und von den Wissenschaftsjournalisten

Bild: a+
Geboren in Catania auf Sizilien, ging Gabriel Cuomo für das Masterstudium nach Triest, als Doktorand nach Lausanne und schliesslich als Postdoc nach New York. Das Bild zeigt Cuomo während eines Besuchs in der Schweiz.
Gabriel Cuomo erhält den CHIPP-Preis 2021

Im vergangenen Jahr hat Gabriel Cuomo an der École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) seine Doktorarbeit in theoretischer Teilchenphysik erfolgreich verteidigt. Für diese akademische Leistung erhält der gebürtige Sizilianer, der

Bild: G. Cuomo
PreisträgerInnen Prix Schläfli 2021 (von links oben nach rechts unten): Gregor Weiss, Fabian Mahrt, Claudia Aloisi, Gabriel Dill
Prix Schläfli 2021 für die vier besten Dissertationen in den Naturwissenschaften

Der körpereigene Schutz vor Harnwegsinfektionen, eine neue Methode zur Quantifizierung und Bestimmung von Erbgutschäden, Beweise in der so genannten diophantischen Geomeotrie und die Frage, wie Russ aus Verbrennungsprozessen die Bildung

Bild: M. Feldmüller, G. J. Crescenzo, ETH Zürich / N. Pitaro, M. Bosshard